Review 86 – SHERLOCK: The Reichenbach Fall

sherlock-saison-2-final-scotche-fauteuil-9628

Get Sherlock. Be it for the Crown Jewels, for self defense or in defense of others.

SHERLOCK: The Reichenbach Fall

Why I Saw It: The first episode in the series was great, so I continued with the second, then the third even still. If you don’t understand why I’m reviewing episodes of a series, please refer to either the article on the entire series itself, or to the review I did for the first episode of the series.

What Was It About? Moriarty returns with more than just the Crown Jewels on his mind and presents Sherlock with one of his greatest – and potentially final – challenges.

Rating: 9.2 out of 10

Memorable Performances: The performance by Andrew Scott as Jim Moriarty was incredible just as it was in his prior episode, though with significantly more involvement here. His interplay with Benedict Cumberbatch made for some of the best scenes I’ve seen. Anywhere.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Benedict Cumberbatch
  • Best Supporting Actor Nominee – Andrew Scott

The Regrettable Aspects: The questions it poses in my head, and the fact that I’ll likely have to wait a year before seeing the next episode.

Would I watch it again? I already have, and there’s a good chance I’ll watch it yet again before 2013 is over. It’s perhaps the strongest of the episodes.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Only to people who have seen all of the previous episodes in the series. It doesn’t HAVE to be viewed that way, but it should be.

Next up, Trollhunter.

2 responses to “Review 86 – SHERLOCK: The Reichenbach Fall

  1. I’ve seen it 3 times so far. Not wanting to ruin it for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet, I’ll just say that I still have a few theories to the big question of “how” – but I’m sure to be wrong on all of them. This episode along with Scandal in Belgravia are my two favorite. If you can, purchase the DVD or BluRay of the first season — you can see the 1 hour pilot they put together to pitch the concept to BBC in the extras. 🙂

    I love Sherlock!

  2. It is just like Game of Thrones and Mad Men. Everything just comes together in the finale. And more then the sarcastic genius, we see the humane side of Sherlock when he makes that sacrifice for John, Lestrade and Mrs.Hudson and makes us sheds tears while he talks with John on the phone. One of the best written, shot and acted out episodes in the history of television.

Leave a comment