Review 81 – SHERLOCK: A Study In Pink

sherlock-101-16579aithine

Sometimes scratches on the side of a cell phone or the floor can tell a life’s story and sibling rivalries can spur greatness.

SHERLOCK: A Study In Pink

Why I Saw It: A friend recommended I add this show to my Netflix Instant queue, the exact circumstances behind which I can’t recall, and when the opportunity presented itself, I dove in. Having just completed the show FIREFLY, I needed a new show to watch.

Show? Isn’t this supposed to be the FILM quest? Why are we talking about SHOWS here?

Because it’s not a show. It’s a series of films, presented as a show. Three episodes per season, and each “episode” at 90 minutes in actual length (without commercials), and each episode having three distinct acts and able to stand alone, apart from the others. These are films.

Memorable Performances: Both Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman are going to find themselves near the top of the Best Actor category. I detail that at length in the article I wrote for the entire series. In this film, the specific performance which needs to be lauded is that of Philip Davis, who portrays the antagonist of the episode – whose character I won’t reveal, as not to provide a spoiler.

The Regrettable Aspects: Philip Davis’ character was soo interesting, it’s a shame he didn’t get more on-screen time.

Would I watch it again? There’s a good chance I’ll watch it before 2013 is over, I’ll watch all six episodes again.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Everyone who likes a great mystery.

Rating: 9.0 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actor Nominee – Philip Davis

Next up, SHERLOCK: The Blind Banker.

5 responses to “Review 81 – SHERLOCK: A Study In Pink

  1. Pingback: Review 82 – SHERLOCK: The Blind Banker | Guys Film Quest·

  2. Pingback: Review 83 – SHERLOCK: The Great Game | Guys Film Quest·

  3. Pingback: Review 84 – SHERLOCK: A Scandal In Belgravia | Guys Film Quest·

  4. Pingback: Review 85 – SHERLOCK: The Hounds of Baskerville | Guys Film Quest·

  5. Pingback: Review 86 – SHERLOCK: The Reichenbach Fall | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

