Review 87 – Troll Hunter

troll-hunter_02-1000

Persistence pays off, and so does sunlight, Christianity and night-vision cameras.

Trollhunter

Why I Saw It: The reviews I was hearing about this Norwegian film were promising, telling of a creative film which is being considered for a remake despite it being not yet two years old.

What Was It About? A film crew attempts to track down and interview a suspected bear poacher, but they find themselves forced to decide whether to believe a man who appears obsessed with tracking down a mythical beast.

Rating: 8.4 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Though I don’t understand the language in which Otto Jespersen spoke in his roll as Trolljegeren Hans, but he did such a great job of becoming that character and performing the tasks with such honesty, dedication and solemnity.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Otto Jespersen

The Regrettable Aspects: The film was excellent, and I’m not sure how well it will translate due to cultural differences, but it would be great to have a version of this film with English dialogue. I’m sure there are nuances of the film I missed out on while I was reading subtitles.

Would I watch it again? I absolutely will be watching it again. As my 2013 Film Quest goal isn’t as lofty, I’ll have more opportunity to go back and view things again. As I know the story and would recall some of the conversations, a second viewing of Troll Hunter is more likely than most of the things I’ve seen in the past, due to increased enjoyment I’d likely get by not having to focus as much on the subtitles.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? For people who enjoy science fiction and aren’t dissuaded by subtitles.

Next up, Star Trek II: The Wrath Of Khan… though for more of my review, from a spoiler-rific perspective, continue on to the next page…

5 responses to “Review 87 – Troll Hunter

Leave a Reply

