Review 59 – Magnum Force

Dirtier than Dirty Harry in a good way.

Magnum Force

Why I Saw It: When the year started, I hadn’t seen any films in the Dirty Harry series, but I had certainly heard about the series. The first one wasn’t disappointing, so why not see the sequel?

Memorable Performances: A year or two from now when I think back to the Dirty Harry character, I will probably remember some scenes from this movie, and some from the first movie. Aside from Clint Eastwood, the only other person I might remember from this movie was Hal Holbrook, and whoever the quick-draw gun shooting cop was.

The Regrettable Aspects: The last ten minutes of the movie could’ve been a lot better, especially the way the last two guys die.

Would I watch it again? Someday, when I watch these movies with my son when he’s much, much older (he’s not even 3 yet), I’ll look forward to watching it again. If some of my friends haven’t seen this series yet, I’d probably watch it with them, too.

Rating: 7.5 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • None

Lastly, I’m always looking for feedback on my reviews, whether it’s about the content or formatting or whatever. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a comment