Review 60 – Gilda

One of the most sexually charged movies I’ve seen, and not a bit of nudity in it.

Gilda

Why I Saw It: It’s a classic, and I want to get better acquainted with the work of Rita Hayworth. As this is her most memorable role, it seemed like a great place to start.

Memorable Performances: Without a doubt, I won’t soon forget some of the scenes with Rita Hayworth and Glenn Ford. The performance of George Macready was commendable as well.

The Regrettable Aspects: The plot pacing was a bit slow at times, and they didn’t adequately set up the reasoning for how Glenn Ford acted for the final third of the film.

Would I watch it again? I actually watched it a second time when the opportunity presented itself, and I’d absolutely watch it a third time. Possibly a fourth, based on who was interested in watching it with me.

Rating: 7.4 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Glenn Ford
  • Best Actress – Rita Hayworth
  • Best Supporting Actor – George Macready
  • Best Picture

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

