Hugo [FQ13 Review 6]

fq2013_green

Sometimes when you judge a book by its cover, you miss out on some of the answers you’re seeking – whether it’s an old book or a new book.

Hugo

Why I Saw It: A film by Martin Scorsese which was nominated for over 10 Academy Awards and won about half of them? That makes it a “must see”.

What Was It About? An orphan finds a key which helps him solve a mystery, but it brings about questions of its own.

Rating: 8.7 out of 10

Memorable Performances: There were three strong performances in this film. While Asa Butterfield (orphan Hugo Cabret) and Beng Kingsley (shopkeeper Georges Melies) were both very good, but it was Sacha Baron Cohen (Station Inspector) whose performance was probably the strongest of anyone. He has certainly shown, at this point, that he’s not only extremely versatile and entertaining, but has immense talent.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Supporting Actor – Sacha Baron Cohen
  • Best Supporting Actor – Ben Kingsley
  • Best Supporting Actress – Chloe Grace Moretz
  • Best Actor – Asa Butterfield

Favorite Parts: I think the ending of this film was probably one of the most satisfying third acts I’ve seen from a film.

The Regrettable Aspects: Although it’s a very minor thing, I wish we had been given one or two more scenes with Hugo and his father (Jude Law) and a better explanation for how Hugo got his job from his uncle.

Would I watch it again? I look forward to showing my wife this movie, and eventually my son. It was not only excellently presented, but I found this movie more entertaining than most reviews had lead me to believe it was going to be.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone. Great film.

Next up, CHINATOWN.

One response to “Hugo [FQ13 Review 6]

  1. I saw this in 3-D when it first came out and it blew me away. Granted, it wasn’t the best thing that Scorsese has ever done, but it gave me the clarification the guy could practically do anything. Good review.

Leave a comment