Godfather Part II [FQ13 Review 5]

fq2013_yellow

If someone appreciates the quality of a movie but didn’t enjoy the overall experience, do they still have to consider it a classic?

The Godfather Part II

Why I Saw It: It’s The Godfather Part II, considered by many to be one of the top 5 movies of all time, and I hadn’t seen it yet. It was a gaping hole in my movie-viewing history.

What Was It About? The continuing saga of the Corleone Family, the film is split between a look back to Vito’s rise to power, and watches and Michael adapts to being the head of the family.

Rating: 8.0 out of 10

Memorable Performances: The film is so epic that it’s hard to pick which ones stand out, but obviously it’s a career-defining role for Al Pacino.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Actor – Al Pacino

Favorite Parts: I wouldn’t say there were specific parts which I enjoyed, but I certainly liked the concept behind the movie, giving a prequel to the first movie and a sequel, telling the tale of both the father’s early life and the next phase in the son’s.

The Regrettable Aspects: The film was extremely long and its pacing was very slow. It absolutely detracted from the entire experience for me.

Would I watch it again? I would only watch it again when someday I’m showing my son “the classics”. For the purposes of watching something for entertainment value, I wouldn’t be interested in another viewing.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who loves films, because everyone deserves to have seen this at least once.

Other Recommendations:

Lawrence Of Arabia – just as “classic”, but far more entertaining

Godfather – the original is far more entertaining

The Freshman – similar vibe, but with humor strewn in among the rest of the film

Next up, HUGO.

Leave a Reply

