Oldboy [FQ13 Review 3]

oldboy-girl

Before you mock someone, you should consider what they might be capable of doing in retaliation.

Oldboy

Why I Saw It: How could I not see a movie which some of my friends consider among their all-time favorites?

What Was It About? When a guy is released from a 15-year imprisonment, he’s on the clock to find out who kidnapped him and why they did it, or they’ll cause him even more pain.

Rating: 8.8 out of 10

Memorable Performances: The lead character gave a great performance, and his nemesis was chillingly psychotic.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Actor – Min-sik Choi
  • Best Supporting Actor – Ji-tae Yu

Favorite Parts: I don’t think I’ll ever forget about the amazing hallway fight, nor the final confrontation with the antagonist.

The Regrettable Aspects: Anytime subtitles are involved, I find myself wishing I understood the native language of a film, because it does detract from the overall experience. Also, there were two parts of the film which involved some graphic violence, and I could’ve done without that.

Would I watch it again? I’m sure at some point I will watch it again, but it’s the opposite of a “feel good” film, so I don’t envision myself seeking out another opportunity to watch it.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who doesn’t mind some intense and disturbing imagery and thematic elements. The end of this film is disturbing, and if that doesn’t deter you, it’s certainly worth the watch.

Interested in hearing a more in-depth discussion from me on Oldboy? Check out the follow-up portion of the review, which is FULL of spoilers.

Next up, The Adventures Of Tin Tin.

One response to “Oldboy [FQ13 Review 3]

  1. Pingback: Oldboy 2013: A Necessary Remake Gone Wrong [FQ13 #139] | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a comment