CM Punk: Best In The World [FQ13 Review 2]

fq2013_yellow

When a person has drive and dedication, they can be inspiring even if you don’t want to share their profession.

CM Punk: Best In The World (Documentary)

Why I Saw It: I’ve been a fan of CM Punk for years, following his wrestling career before he got the opportunity to wrestle for WWE. Naturally when I saw there was a documentary chronicling his early life and his career to date, I was interested in seeing how they presented it.

What Was It About? How does a guy, who doesn’t fit the mold, become the top guy in a billion dollar industry? What influenced him, what struggles did he have to over-come in both his personal and professional life to not just become the top guy in WWE, but to even make it into the business.

Rating: 7.5 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Though this was a documentary so I wouldn’t refer to them as “performances”, it was really interesting to hear from the people with whom CM Punk has formed a family.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: It was touching to hear CM Punk talk about the tattoo he and his “siblings” all got, and the end of the documentary was a great throwback to Ferris Bueller. It was also a fun moment for me to see some of the Ring Of Honor guys on a WWE production.

The Regrettable Aspects: I’m sure he couldn’t give his full opinions on certain things because it is a WWE production, though there weren’t too many moments I can recall where I felt like he was holding back.

Would I watch it again? Absolutely.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? To anyone who has any interest in understanding the world of professional wrestling or simply enjoys an interesting story.

Next up, Oldboy.

Leave a Reply

