Review 58 – Highlander

Was it “There CAN BE only one” or “There SHOULD BE only one”?

Highlander

Why I Saw It: The series is one of the more infamous in the history of film with a strong fan following, and I’ve never seen any of the films. Not a single one, until now.

Memorable Performances: I’ll probably never forget Sean Connery’s performance. Not because it was great, but because it was an interesting character. I’ll probably also remember Christopher Lambert’s involvement because the only other thing I’ve seen him in was Mortal Kombat.

The Regrettable Aspects: The acting. By almost everyone in almost every scene that didn’t involve a sword fight.

Would I watch it again? Maybe. The fight scenes were cool, and the story was interesting, and some of the bad acting was almost laughable. I didn’t love the film, but it wasn’t an entirely terrible viewing. From what I’ve heard, I’d rather watch this again than watch Highlander II.

Rating: 7.0 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • You’re kidding, right?

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

One response to “Review 58 – Highlander

  1. This is the next review I have to write. Somehow I grew up in the 80s without ever seeing it.
    As for review formats, I like your format now and there could even be more sections like direction, production, script/story, etc.

Leave a comment