Review 57 – Sherlock Holmes 2

Do you ever get the feeling that some sequels suffer because actors are obligated to participate?

Sherlock Holmes 2

Why I Saw It: I really enjoyed the first Sherlock Holmes film from Guy Ritchie and Robert Downey Jr, so I had really high hopes for the sequel.

Memorable Performances: Sad to say, but only there are only two performances I’ll remember for positive reasons. Jared Harris, who was great in his run on Mad Men as Lane Pryce, gave a very good performance as Moriarty. Although I prefer the version of Mycroft Holmes from BBC’s SHERLOCK, Stephen Fry’s portrayal was certainly memorable.

The Regrettable Aspects: The saddest part about this film was that Robert Downey Jr seemed less inspired for a role I quite enjoyed him in the first time around. Rachel McAdams’ Irene Adler wasn’t featured nearly enough. The ending of the film was disappointing.

Would I watch it again? If someone wanted to convince me that this was as great as its predecessor, I’d oblige them and give it one more viewing to potentially change my opinion, but I’m hoping they’d be the one to provide the material because I don’t envision myself renting it again. If my dad asked about it, having enjoyed the first one, I’d steer him in a different direction.

Rating: 7.8 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actor – Stephen Fry
  • Best Supporting Actor – Jared Harris

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a comment