Review 56 – The Illusionist

The course of a magician’s true love never did disappear smoothly.

The Illusionist

Why I Saw It: My preference, when two period piece films about magicians were released at roughly the same time, was to see Christopher Nolan’s THE PRESTIGE. Because Nolan’s film was one of my all-time favorites after a couple viewings, I totally ignored The Illusionist. My uncle, with whom I share a love of films, recommended I watch The Illusionist, and with Edward Norton in the cast I figured it was certainly worth a shot.

Memorable Performances: Edward Norton does a great job, as per usual, and Paul Giamatti was really good in his supporting role as was Jessica Biel (surprisingly, as I’m not usually a fan of hers).

The Regrettable Aspects: The film was slower than I was expecting, and for whatever reason, I didn’t like the “look” of the film. The plot was interesting, but not significantly so.

Would I watch it again? Perhaps. It’s a good film and was mildly entertaining, but not enough that I’d seek it out.

Rating: 8.0 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actor – Paul Giamatti
  • Best Supporting Actress – Jessica Biel

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

