A Hectic Movie-Watching December 2017 To Remember

It’s going to be something of a hectic December 2017 in terms of movie watching!

In doing my yearly Film Quest, I stopped setting number-based goals a few years ago, but my unofficial goal each year is to see 100 movies, which I’ve accomplished every year since 2011. As of now, at the current pace, I’d fall short.

And I don’t want to fall short!

Currently I’m at 77 movies seen in 2017. That means that for the next 32 nights, I need to see 23 films that I’ve never seen before. Even with Netflix Instant, Netflix DVD Delivery, Amazon Prime, and HBO, it’s going to be tough, but I’m up for the challenge!

[Factoring in a company holiday party, my birthday, Christmas celebrations with three sets of my son’s grandparents (you read that right), and at least one out-of-town 2-day trip, that doesn’t leave much wiggle-room!!]

I have a few movies in mind that I’m going to try to see, but if anyone has recommendations (especially if they’re available on one of those streaming services I mentioned), I’m all ears!! (Full list of what I’ve seen in 2017 can be found here!)

Here’s what I’ve got planned (in no particular order)…

  1. Star Wars Episode 8
  2. Murder on the Orient Express
  3. Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
  4. The Man Who Invented Chirstmas
  5. Darkest Hour
  6. The French Connection
  7. John Wick 2
  8. The Dark Tower (DVD from Netflix currently at home)
  9. Lady Bird
  10. Ferdinand (with my son)
  11. The Greatest Showman OR Pitch Perfect 3 (with my wife, but only one of them)
  12. Jumanji: Welcome To The Jungle
  13. Molly’s Game
  14. Moonstruck (yep, the Cher movie, it hits Amazon Prime) [A]
  15. Ultimate Avengers: The Movie [A]
  16. Bone Tomahawk [A] OR Rosewater [N] (but doubtful I’d get to both of them)
  17. Chappie [N]

Given that I probably will end up not seeing a few of those, I need a “to watch list” exceeding 23, so there are quite a few remaining spots to fill… will I make it? It should be a December to Remember!!

Leave a comment