Mr. Right

When Anna Kendrick is in a movie, there’s only so bad it can be. She’s got talent, she’s cute and charming and typically has good on-screen chemistry with her co-stars. So just seeing her name attached to a movie called MR. RIGHT, which I hadn’t heard anything else about, made me think that I probably wouldn’t be wasting my entire evening watching it. She’s not the type to do a straight-up “chick flick” without some sort of comedic side to it, so I figured it would be at least tolerable.

mrright_qvpyvbn

And then I heard that Sam Rockwell was in it.

If you’re familiar with Sam Rockwell from CONFESSIONS OF A DANGEROUS MIND, then you have a pretty good idea of what to expect out of MR. RIGHT, and you can basically just stop reading my review now and go find it on HBO or Redbox, because you know it’s worth a watch.

The reason I mentioned CONFESSIONS as an example and not one of his other great flicks, like THE WAY WAY BACK, SAFE MEN, MOON, THE WINNING SEASON or BETTER LIVING THROUGH CHEMISTRY is because his role as Chuck Barris is very similar to what we see here, only a bit more stylized.

_B7A7885.CR2

Max Landis wrote MR. RIGHT, and I’m starting to become a fan of his. Chronicle was good, as was Wrestling Isn’t Wrestling. I’ve heard good things about American Ultra being better than expected. And his recent run in DC comic books with Superman: American Alien was a really interesting take on the character and very well crafted.

What else? Well, if you need more reason to see it (or not see it), there’s some decent action, a bit of gunplay, some violence, a bit of blood, and Tim Roth.

Yep, that Tim Roth.

And RZA of Wu-Tang Clan fame.

It’s not for everyone. The violence might be a put-off to some people, but there’s not so much that my wife or mother-in-law wouldn’t be up for watching it, so I’m going to say that unless you’re extremely anti-gun, don’t let that dissuade you, because it’s a fun ride, and it does it with style. Rockwell and Kendrick have chemistry together, and their on-screen relationship doesn’t feel weird even with the 17-year age difference of the actors.

I’d go so far as to say that I hope they do a sequel.

My rating: 85 out of 100

mrright2016

One response to “Mr. Right

  1. Pingback: My 2016 Quest Year In Review | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

