MOON: Sam Rockwell Shines Alone [FQ14 #65]

moon01

Why I Saw It: Sam Rockwell is a great actor, and I’ve heard good things about this film. Having recently seen LOCKE, I thought this would be a good follow-up film, given the main character’s isolation and the lead actor needing to carry the film.

Rating: 8 out of 10

Memorable Performances: The only performance really to talk about with this film is that of Sam Rockwell, as he’s the only actor who gets any more than a few seconds of screen-time throughout the film. Without giving too much away, Rockwell does a great job with both of his performances in this film. They were distinctly different from one another, which is a credit to Rockwell’s talent. Neither one of the roles here were my favorite of Rockwell’s, but they were strong nevertheless.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Actor – Sam Rockwell

Favorite Parts: The film would have been interesting on its own, but it’s in the twist we encounter early in the film that really makes it worth the watch. The sets which the filmmakers built for this project were incredible, and the special effects were really good despite its “indie” status.

The Regrettable Aspects: I was a bit unclear on the final five minutes of the film’s plot, and although I really like the way it ends, I wish they spent more time on that aspect of things instead of just clumsily announcing things through voice-over during the credits. I didn’t fully understand what I had seen until I did a little bit of research. I’m sure some other viewers better followed what went on in the scenes before and during the credits.

Would I watch it again? I’d watch it if the film were on cable somewhere and nothing else was on, or if it were available on-demand somewhere that I didn’t have to pay to see it again. I’m glad I saw the film and it’s of undeniable quality, but it wasn’t a particularly “fun” film, so I’m not going to go out of my way to track it down.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  I’d recommend this film to anyone who likes a character-driven film, or a sci-fi which focuses on social commentary and technological advancement.

Note: This was the 65th film I’ve seen for my Film Quest 2014.

3 responses to “MOON: Sam Rockwell Shines Alone [FQ14 #65]

  1. Rockwell, as usual, is amazing here. It’s nice to see him get his own movie where it’s just him doing what he does best: Command our attention and never lose it for a second. Good review.

  2. Cool review yo. I watched this film a good few years ago because my mates moaned on at me for ages to see it and I ended up really liking it. Sam Rockell is SO good in this film, but I also have to give props to Kevin Spacey for his role in the film too. The sense of loneliness and emptiness that surrounds Rockwell’s character is just insane and I just like the way the film’s story unfolds. And that soundtrack, gorgeous especially in the credits.

Leave a Reply

