Locke (2014): Fear Not The One-Man Show [FQ14 #62]

A guy in a car, driving somewhere, talking on the phone. And this is supposed to be a good movie? Well it is.

locke-tom-hardy-12

Why I Saw It: I’ve enjoyed all of the performances I’ve seen from Tom Hardy, and with all the reviews I’ve heard about how this movie is entirely different than what you’ve seen on screen before, I had to see this.

Rating: 8.7 out of 10

Memorable Performances

There is really only one performance in this film, aside from the people on the phone we don’t see, and Tom Hardy hits a home run.  He gets at the heart of the character in a very natural way, presenting a strong foundation based around some deep-seeded heartache.

While Hardy’s work in Bronson is one which is indelibly etched into the minds of anyone who sees the film, this role is absolutely one which I’ll remember for how Hardy was able to carry the entire film in a role with plenty of subtleties and no one to interact with directly.

Favorite Parts

The parts of the film where he’s talking to his father are extremely powerful, and excellently executed by Hardy. The fact that he was able to insert some humor into the discussions with his assistant Donal certainly add another dimension to the film, without which the movie wouldn’t be as good.

The Regrettable Aspects

The ending to the film could use a bit more content. While I don’t need the film to provide more closure, it would benefit from a stronger final scene.

Would I watch it again?

I will absolutely watch this film again, though perhaps not as intently the next time around. It’s a film that, after seeing once, I’ll be content to view in the background while working on something else. I do want to try to see it again for a few reasons, most notably because I want to see how things unfold in the beginning of the film, knowing what’s unfolding ahead of time.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?

To anyone who is willing to watch a drama where they know the main character is the only one seen on film, I would recommend they give this film a try. I know for some people they’ll dismiss this film simply with that understanding in mind, but they’ll be missing out on a strong performance.

Note: This was the 62nd film I’ve seen this year. For more information on what I’ve been up to, check out the page for my Film Quest 2014.

7 responses to “Locke (2014): Fear Not The One-Man Show [FQ14 #62]

    • Thanks Dan, I totally agree. Whether it’s the silent freakout moments, the glimpses into the rearview mirror to look into the backseat, his reassuring look as he talks to Bethan, or even his face as he talks to his assistant (“so you are drinking cider”) were all just great.

      You’ve seen Bronson, right?

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more on the ending and the way it was handled. I too don’t necessarily need more closure but it was so odd how it faded out. Really wasn’t expecting it to end that way, and while sometimes in films that’s a big compliment to the strength of how a story is wrapped up, here it felt a little like the rug being pulled out from under me. All the same this was one of my favorites of the year too. It’s definitely making a top ten

Leave a Reply

