Judge Dredd:Not Completely Terrible [FQ14 #44]

He is the law, but you can feel free to judge him.

judge-dredd-35607

Why I Saw It: I saw the reboot last year after hearing some great reviews for it, and having really enjoyed it, I felt compelled to see the original.

Rating: 6.2 out of 10
This film is not even close to being as terrible as a lot of people like to say. There are some decent (not great) one-liners, decent action, and better-than-expected special effects.

Memorable Performances: This certainly isn’t one I’m going to remember for the performances of Sylvester Stallone, Diane Lane or Rob Schneider, but I did actually like what Armand Assante brought to his character. I don’t want to give too many spoilers, but the choices he made for mannerisms and accent made his character soo much better than it would’ve been without it. I’m especially glad they didn’t just use special effects.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: The scene where Rob Schneider and Stallone are trying to get up the nerve to run into the fire-spitting exhaust tube was entertaining, but other than that, I wouldn’t point to any scenes as being “favorites”. While there weren’t really any “groan-worthy” spots in the film, most of it came close. I was impressed with some of the special effects makeup and work with robotics. I was half expecting the large robot to be CGI or a special effect, but it was almost certainly tangible for the actors.

The Regrettable Aspects: Every time Stallone loudly growled something, I shook my head. It could’ve been worse, but not by much. If he had toned down the way he said things, and they had used a grittier lighting/cinematography, this film would’ve been considerably better.

Would I watch it again? As I’m a big fan of Diane Lane, that might be the only reason I wouldn’t change the channel if I landed on it while channel surfing.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Anyone who saw and enjoyed the new DREDD film should check out the old one, so long as they’re able to keep in mind the quality of the visual effects in regard to the year it was created. I would absolutely recommend AGAINST seeing this film if you haven’t already seen the remake.

Leave a Reply

