The Magicians: Now You See Burt Wonderstone [FQ14]

If I waited to post separate reviews of NOW YOU SEE ME and THE INCREDIBLE BURT WONDERSTONE, I’d never get around to it. Backed up as I am, I figured it was a good idea to cover it all in one article. I’ll do my best to make it interesting and informative.

Now-You-See-Burt-Wonderstone

Why I Saw Them: I enjoy magic as much as the next guy, and even though neither of them got particularly great reviews, they were both available to me through HBO Go, and they each looked interesting. A film about magician thieves? Interesting enough premise. Competing magicians co-starring two guys (Carell and Carrey) capable of being really funny? Could be good.

Ratings: 

NOW YOU SEE ME – 8 out of 10 (HPR average +1.7)

INCREDIBLE BURT WONDERSTONE – 7.2 out of 10 (HPRavg +1.4)

Favorite Parts: The plot of NOW YOU SEE ME was really interesting, and it played out nicely, keeping me guessing until the end. It was far more interesting than I had expected or could’ve guessed it might be. I can totally understand why talented actors like Morgan Freeman, Michael Caine and Mark Ruffalo would sign on to be part of the film.

The premise and plot of INCREDIBLE BURT WONDERSTONE was more basic and relied more on humor than anything else.

The Regrettable Aspects: There really wasn’t much I’d change about NOW YOU SEE ME, but I’d dial-back some of the things about Jim Carrey’s character that took it to the absurd, and to a certain degree, the same is true about Steve Carell’s character. They both detracted from the film at times, and it’s more about the script than the performances.

Would I watch it again? I’d absolutely watch NOW YOU SEE ME again, though I don’t know that there’s much about BURT WONDERSTONE that would necessitate a second viewing.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Just about anyone could find something to enjoy about NOW YOU SEE ME. For people who enjoy Jim Carrey even when he goes to the absurd areas of comedy, WONDERSTONE could be worth a viewing.

Leave a Reply

