Me and You and Everyone We Know [FQ’13 #141]

myewk-4

When I signed up to participate in CineKatz’s Not-So-Secret Santa, the film I was asked to review was “Me and You and Everyone We Know”, and I’m glad that’s what showed up. Although I like to seek out potentially interesting indie flicks, this isn’t something that had been on my list before. Despite having heard the name, there hadn’t been any significant buzz generated to help get me interested in checking it out.

The first few minutes of the film were a little strange, and I’m curious how many people tuned into it and then stopped watching before the movie gets rolling, but I hope there weren’t too many.

The characters in the film are a little weird, but they’re worth watching. The tale which weaves them together isn’t particularly groundbreaking, but it made for a more enjoyable evening than I was otherwise expecting.

Interactions between Miranda July and John Hawkes showed plenty of chemistry, but they also felt a bit unnatural. At times, they felt like they had known each other for a while, despite having barely met. I did really enjoy the discussion they had while they walked down the road to their respective cars.

The Swersey sons gave good performances and provided a few laughs, but the younger of the two also made me worry about the kind of things kids his age are doing on the internet and meeting the people they might encounter there.
))<>((

That “weirded-out” feeling also extended to the side story of the two girls and the guy leaving notes for them in his window.

All in all, I’d definitely recommend it to people who like quirky characters and storylines, and don’t mind it when things get a little weird.

My Rating: 72 out of 100

As part of the Not-So-Secret Santa, we were told that we could either write a review or do something else creative. I decided to write a review AND draw a picture. I’m not a great artist, but I amuse myself. And hopefully whoever requested this film will appreciate the attempt at art.

me_you_everyone_we_know-1

6 responses to “Me and You and Everyone We Know [FQ’13 #141]

  1. Pingback: The CK's Not So Secret Santa Review Swap: List of Reviews | Listing the Reasons We Love the Movies·

  2. Glad you enjoyed it! I like those quirky, simple movies and this one really got me! That’s a great drawing too! – Nate (Secret Santa)

  3. An interesting sounding film that I might seek out. Great review! And thank you for participating in our Secret Santa Review Swap!

    • Yeah, don’t RUN out to see it, but you may as well put it on your “to see eventually” list. It’s interesting and has some quirky characters. An enjoyable evening, but ultimately a forgettable movie…. except for ))((

Leave a Reply

