Eight Crazy Nights [FQ13 #134]

During the holidays, an alcoholic considers changing his ways while doing community service with an elderly referee.

eight-crazy-nights_961

Why I Saw It: The film features the hit-or-miss Adam Sandler, and it’s part of the Half Popped Holidays film series I’m running over at Half Popped Reviews.

Rating: 4.5 out of 10
When I say that I fell asleep during the movie, I mean it very literally. I had to rewind it three times to ensure I saw the whole thing.

Memorable Performances: There weren’t any. I suppose I’d say that I’ll remember how this was another lame offering from Adam Sandler, even as he attempts to provide a Hanukkah movie.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: The scene where Adam Sandler is first bonding with the kid by playing basketball was decent.

The Regrettable Aspects: Almost the entire rest of the movie, aside from the backstory and how he’s trying to change his ways near the end of the film.

Would I watch it again? If someone found an Eight Crazy Nights drinking game and they wanted to give it a shot, I’d play along. Aside from that, Not interested.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Anyone who likes Adam Sandler and thinks he can do no wrong, maybe they’ll enjoy it.

Other Recommendations:

– CLICK and/or ANGER MANAGEMENT – If you like Eight Crazy Nights, you’ll probably like either/both of those films. If you liked those movies, you’ll probably like Eight Crazy Nights.

PUNCH-DRUNK LOVE – Easily one of Adam Sandler’s best films, and NOTHING like Eight Crazy Nights.

– SPANGLISH – Another good one from Sandler that doesn’t get enough respect, despite being significantly better known than Punch-Drunk Love.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to EIGHT CRAZY NIGHTS, or for other similar films, let me know!

Leave a Reply

