The Perks Of Being A Wallflower [FQ13 #77]

An introverted young man is taken under the wing by seniors during his rough freshman year.

perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movie-image-emma-watson-logan-lerman-slice-01

Why I Saw It: I’m almost always interested in a “coming of age” story, but Perks Of Being A Wallflower was getting such a good response from people whose opinions I respect, it was a no-brainer.

Rating: 8.8 out of 10

Memorable Performances: There were a few of them. Emma Watson was really good in it, easily displaying that she’s capable of much more than just what she did in the Harry Potter films. Potentially more brilliant was Ezra Miller, whose performance put him on my watch-list to see what else he has done. The best performance by far was from Logan Lerman in the lead role, who did excellent work.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Actor – Logan Lerman
  • Best Supporting Actress – Emma Watson
  • Best Supporting Actor – Ezra Miller

Favorite Parts: The entire film was just so well done that it’s hard to pick individual spots. They took a classic “coming-of-age” tale with a boy who wants a girl to notice him, they added some nice aspects to it, and then as it nears the end, they stood the film on its head and made it an excellent story.

The Regrettable Aspects: It’s hard to find anything.

Would I watch it again? I certainly will be watching it again. It’s not a film that I think I want to own on DVD, but if I saw it in a bargain bin, I might pick it up.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Just about anyone over 18.

Other Recommendations:

– LUCAS – An excellent “coming of age” film that doesn’t get nearly the visibility it deserves.

ALMOST FAMOUS – When it comes to “coming of age” films, it almost doesn’t get any better than this.

IT’s KIND OF A FUNNY STORY – A somewhat similar film, only set in a much different environment. Emma Roberts’ character is less complex than that of Emma Watson’s character here, but E-Roberts does a decent job with it.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up…  another six-pack!

4 responses to “The Perks Of Being A Wallflower [FQ13 #77]

  1. Such a beautiful movie that reminded me of high school in all the right ways. The classmates, the teachers, the weeks that went by so slow, the weekends filled with all sorts of debauchery, etc. You get my drift. Good review.

  2. One of my favourite films of all time. I think people in general loved it, but it didn’t get that much recognition award-wise. Very cool review! I like It’s Kind of a Funny Story but it’s nowhere as good as this one.

  3. Cool review yo, I remember seeing this film around a year ago in the cinema and I loved it. I saw the trailer and thought it might be a good watch, but I never knew it’d affect me so much. I adore this film, it literally spoke to the youthful side of me and reminded me of the awesome time I had with my mates in college. It’s just a feel-good film with a beautiful story and great performances from Logan Lerman, Emma Watson and Ezra Miller.

  4. Really glad you liked it! Chbosky does an outstanding job of turning his book into a film and bringing so much soul and heart into it. The Perks of Being a Wallflower was so much more than I imagined, and a lot darker than I thought it would be, I had no idea where this film would take me.
    Great review!

Leave a Reply

