Four Horror Movies Of The Apocalypse

apocalypse-blogathon_gM7G6x5

My friend Nick Powell over at CineKatz came up with a blogathon, and I thought perhaps I’d take part. The theme is thus:

This October-long event is not only inspired by but also challenges everyone to come up with four movies that define the end of it all, each representing one of the horseman of the apocalypse-Pestilence, War, Famine, and Death. Keep in mind, while the title is The Four Horror Movies of the Apocalypse, they do not necessarily need to be horror movies. Just make sure in your piece to focus on the horrific parts of the film and how it relates to each horseman. You can write reviews for each film, write a list including each horseman, pick out scenes that fit each moment, or get creative and do something entirely different. It’s the end of the world so no rules apply.

Though I’m not a huge fan of horror films, I wanted to do my best to participate just like I did last year with AntiFilmSchool‘s list of Five Films That Scare Me.

I’m sure there are better options that others will find to go in these spots, but I’m not as well versed in those type of films as others, so forgive me for my… potentially non-traditional choices.

i-am-legend_4724524_l2

Pestilence – I AM LEGEND

While I prefer the book, it didn’t make me dislike the film. In fact, I almost see this as the story of a different man living under the same conditions as described in the book, perhaps with less humanity and social narrative. The book doesn’t fit in this category, but the film works really well as an option here. Will Smith’s character and his dog aren’t simply trying to survive, he’s seeking to cure the pestilence. In fact, he seeks the cure all the way until the film’s final scene, in which the cure he’s working on plays an integral role. If you’ve seen the film, be sure to look for the alternate ending, which has an ending which some may find more satisfying, especially in regards to the pestilence storyline.

My honorable mention here is Zombieland, because it’s a far more enjoyable film than I AM LEGEND, but it doesn’t deal with anyone trying to solve the pestilence.

saving-private-ryan

War – SAVING PRIVATE RYAN

This will always be the quintessential war film to me. It doesn’t glorify war, and unlike anything else I’ve seen, it shows the brutality and frantic nature of battle. It shows heroism and brotherhood, but it also carries with it the grim realities of the death war brings and its impacts not only on the families of the fallen soldiers, but the soldiers who fought alongside them.

Grapes_of_Wrath_023_twentiethcenturyfox

Famine – Grapes Of Wrath

This book is required reading for most high school students, and without the 1940’s film, I’m sure many of the students wouldn’t understand the text as well. Or, at the very least, they’d have to read the book as the only means by which to prepare for the tests. While I’m sure a large percentage of the people assigned to read the lengthy text didn’t enjoy the assignment, its literary quality is of little debate.

meet-joe-black_355263613_o

Death – Meet Joe Black

Though it’s something of a remake, that doesn’t change the fact that Death taking a holiday to more fully try to understand humanity and love is an interesting concept.

My honorable mention here is Bill And Ted’s Bogus Journey. I wavered as to whether to include this as my official option, but I haven’t seen Bogus Journey in well over a decade, and I couldn’t do justice to a film which I recall being extremely creative. The fact that they seek to defeat Death The Grim Reaper by out dueling him in various games was one of the more entertainingly clever plot-lines I’ve seen.

Here’s a link to see the official announcement of the Blogathon at CineKatz.

One response to “Four Horror Movies Of The Apocalypse

  1. Pingback: The Four Horror Movies of the Apocalypse Recap | Listing the Reasons We Love the Movies·

Leave a Reply

