Trouble With The Curve [FQ13 #67]

trouble-with-the-curve-slice

As a baseball scout deals with the realities of aging, he reconnects with his daughter as she learns her own lessons about life, love and the pursuit of happiness.

Why I Saw It: I’m trying to see more performances from Clint Eastwood this year. Justin Timberlake is growing on me as an actor (by which I mean I enjoy his work but I haven’t seen enough to say he’s super-talented yet). Amy Adams NEVER disappoints.

Rating: 6.3 out of 10

Memorable Performances: There really weren’t any. No one was especially bad in this film, but no one out-did anything I’ve previously seen them in. If John Goodman had a bigger role in the film, it might’ve been much, much better.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • None

Favorite Parts: The parts where they talk about the technical aspects of baseball and spend time with the Atlanta Braves were fun, primarily because I was a Braves fan growing up.

The Regrettable Aspects: The film just sort of lacked something. Maybe the chemistry between any two of the three protagonists could’ve been much better.

Would I watch it again? I might have it on in the background, but I can’t imagine choosing to watch it again. In fact, I’ll probably revisit the rating I’ve given it. Although I’ve already changed its rating once, I’m likely to do it again.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Actually I can’t think of anyone outside of Atlanta Braves fans to whom I’d recommend it. It’s really just not an overly enjoyable film.

Other Recommendations:

GRAN TORINO – If you want to watch Clint Eastwood portray a character where he’s having trouble dealing with the realities of aging, this is the one you’ll want to watch. Significantly better than TROUBLE WITH THE CURVE.

ENCHANTED – I have no idea why I ever watched this film, but Amy Adams is incredible in it, and it’s a much more clever film than I expected. Highly recommend this… even though it might seem a little childish.

– IN TIME – If you’re just in it for Justin Timberlake, I’d definitely recommend you try IN TIME instead.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to TROUBLE WITH THE CURVE, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… The Hurt Locker!

2 responses to “Trouble With The Curve [FQ13 #67]

  1. Good review. The cast did what they could, but in the end, the movie just ended up being too safe and conventional for its own good. However, it was still pleasant enough, I guess.

  2. Cool review yo.

    That’s a darn shame about this film, I saw the trailer for this last year and thought it looked pretty interesting. I really just want to see a good Clint Eastwood film, haven’t seen anything amazing from him since Gran Torino (one of my favourite films ever).

Leave a Reply

