Lara Croft: Tomb Raider [Review 65 for FQ13]

While searching for a mysterious artifact holding mythical powers, a beautiful thrill-seeker hopes to also find more information about her missing father.

Tomb-Raider-angelina-jolie-741680_500_400

Why I Saw It: I was a huge fan of the first two Tomb Raider games, and I’ve always been a fan of Angelina Jolie, so honestly I’m incredibly surprised it took me this long to watch these films.

What Was It About?  “A member of a rich British aristocratic family, Lara Croft is a “tomb raider” who enjoys collecting ancient artifacts from ruins of temples, cities, etc. worldwide, and doesn’t mind going through death-defying dangers to get them. She is skilled in hand-to-hand combat, weapons training, and foreign languages – and does them all in tight outfits.

angelina_jolie-tomb_raider_againRating: 6.9 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Given my love of Tomb Raider… and that I enjoy watching Angelina Jolie shoot guns, so her role was certainly a memorable one for me. I don’t know if viewers who aren’t fans of the game series will feel the same. I don’t think Daniel Craig’s performance will be memorable, partially because he wasn’t in the film as much as he could’ve been… and partially because it wasn’t a very good role.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: The shoot-out when Lara Croft’s house is being invaded was cool. Also an enjoyable action scene was the part with the huge room with the solar system clock in it, where Lara had to climb up through all the moving pieces. I also enjoyed the fact that with Daniel Craig as a main part of the cast, it seemed like, on some levels, she was interacting with James Bond.

The Regrettable Aspects: The film had far too many parts which caused eye-rolling. She made her way through a cafe with a dogsled team… without a sled, just using her feet (no skiis). Some of the lines of dialogue were frustratingly bad. The portions of the film which focus on the relationship between Lara and her father were weird, especially because Jon Voight plays her father. If you’re not “in the know”, Voight is Jolie’s real-life father, and growing up, they never had a good relationship.

Would I watch it again? I probably will at some point, based mostly on my love of the video game character… but not if the sequel to the film is significantly better.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Anyone who likes the video game series… though I’m thinking they’ve probably already seen it.

angelina_jolie-tomb_raider

Other Recommendations:

RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK – So… this is quite possibly the most obvious recommendation I’ve ever given, and perhaps the most useless since most people have probably already seen this film.

–  SALT – It wasn’t necessarily as good as Tomb Raider, but I’m not sure it’s any worse. It’s a film that I’m “on the fence” about, and quite honestly I’m interested to hear what other people think about it. And Angelina Jolie’s in it, and she shoots lots of guns.

PLAYING BY HEART – It’s easily my favorite Angelina Jolie performance, and of the highest quality, as well. I’m guessing most of you haven’t heard about it… until now. It also features a decent performance from Jon Stewart (Daily Show), and I’m almost certain that you haven’t seen a performance from him if you haven’t seen this film.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to LARA CROFT: TOMB RAIDER, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… MAN OF STEEL!

Leave a Reply

