Seven Psychopaths – Two Nearly Coherent, Awkwardly Meshed Stories [FQ13 #57]

7-psychopaths

Why I Saw It: The previous film from Martin McDonagh, IN BRUGES, was really good and featured a strong performance from Colin Farrell. I usually enjoy Christopher Walken, and Sam Rockwell has a great track record with me. Woody Harrelson is talented, and in the past few years he’s getting a lot of praise for his work.With all that going for it, how could I not watch it?

What Was It About?  “A struggling screenwriter inadvertently becomes entangled in the Los Angeles criminal underworld after his oddball friends kidnap a gangster’s beloved Shih Tzu.

Rating: 7.2 out of 10

Memorable Performances: There’s no question that Woody Harrelson has given better performances elsewhere, but the quality of the performance mixed with the entertaining nature of the character makes this a role I won’t soon forget. Tom Waits wasn’t in the film as much as some of the other characters, but he was really good as a bunny-toting psycho. Christopher Walken gave a very strong performance, though his character was more straightforward than some of the others, and less entertaining. Nothing special to note from Colin Farrell and Sam Rockwell, a slight disappointment given what Farrell did the last time he was in a McDonagh film, and because I’m a big fan of Sam Rockwell and his character was mostly a one-note guy.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Supporting Actor – Tom Waits
  • Best Supporting Actor – Woody Harrelson

Favorite Parts: The story of the old Quaker who stalked his daughter’s killer was an interesting touch. The interaction between Woody Harrelson and Christopher Walken in the hospital was a really good scene.

The Regrettable Aspects: The film took three or four different stories and tried to mesh them together, but the way they executed on it just felt too awkward. One would think that with the nature of the film, the ending would’ve strived to wrap things up in a creative way, but it fell so flat that I had to look up what happened to remind myself what the ending was (it has been over a month since I watched it).

Would I watch it again? I might, but only if someone comments here and tries to convince me that the film was better than I’m currently rating it. Or if a director’s cut emerges, I’d give it a look upon someone’s strong recommendation.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  I wouldn’t go out of my way to recommend it to anyone.

Other Recommendations:

IN BRUGES – By FAR the better McDonagh / Farrell film.

– THE WAY WAY BACK – If you’re reading my review chronologically, this might confuse you, but because I’m taking a Christopher Nolan style approach… okay, that’s a bit too much exaggeration… because I’m taking a non-linear approach to my reviews, I can already point you in the direction of that very enjoyable film which features a strong performance by Sam Rockwell. (review)

– THE MAIDEN HEIST – I’m a big fan of Christopher Walken, and I’m guessing that a lot of you haven’t even heard of The Maiden Heist. How can you go wrong with Christopher Walken, William H Macy and Morgan Freeman all in the same film? I’m sure it’s possible, but The Maiden Heist wasn’t such a failure. (review)

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to SEVEN PSYCHOPATHS, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… GREAT GATSBY!

3 responses to “Seven Psychopaths – Two Nearly Coherent, Awkwardly Meshed Stories [FQ13 #57]

  1. In Bruges was so much better! I was trying to keep an open mind throughout the whole thing, but it really fell apart for me at the end. And I totally agree with what you said about the different stories not really coming together. Definite potential, but it just didn’t work.

Leave a Reply

