Wreck-It Ralph: My Hopes Destroyed [Review 51 for FQ13]

Wreck-it-Ralph-wreck-it-ralph-33985522-1920-1200

Why I Saw It: I wouldn’t consider myself a “gamer”, but I’ve played video games throughout nearly my entire life, and the characters incorporated into the trailers of this film caught my eye immediately. Then I got hooked with the premise and immediately included it onto my list of films to watch.

What Was It About?  “A video game villain wants to be a hero and sets out to fulfill his dream, but his quest brings havoc to the whole arcade where he lives.

Rating: 8.1 out of 10

Favorite Parts: The group therapy sessions were great, featuring some classic villains all in one room together. Seeing them interact is something I won’t soon forget. The racing scenes towards the end were great call-backs to Mario Kart games, which really hit home with me. Just about all of the scenes with Qbert? Hillarious.

wreck-it-ralph_Zangief_bowser_m_bison_dr_eggman_kano_wreck-it_ralph_Pixelsmithstudios

The Regrettable Aspects: The film’s plot got too convoluted and dragged on a bit too long. It really could have been a classic in the making, but along the way, things just fell flat. Though I liked the film, it was a disappointment due to the expectations I had going into it, and its potential for being a great film. There just weren’t enough good characters in the film, and the ones who were entertaining were side characters who played very limited parts in the film.

Would I watch it again? I won’t be buying it on DVD like I was expecting to happen prior to my first viewing, but when I see it show up on the television’s guide at some point, I’ll stop in for a few minutes.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Anyone who really enjoys games like Street Fighter, Donkey Kong, Mario Kart or Q-bert should give it a watch.

Other Recommendations:

INDIE GAME: THE MOVIE – So you like video games? How about watching a really good documentary about how some independent game makers put long hours into making one of their own? (full review)

– SCOTT PILGRIM VS THE WORLD – True video game fans will see influences from various games all over this film, and it’s done so well that it’s one of my favorite movies. Of all time.

–  GAMER – I didn’t love it, but some people did, and it had a very interesting premise and was decently put together.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to WRECK-IT RALPH, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… DIRTY GIRL!

5 responses to “Wreck-It Ralph: My Hopes Destroyed [Review 51 for FQ13]

  1. Showing the trailer with the video game villains was meant to entice gamers into wanting to see the movie for themselves. It’s all about marketing, my friend. This movie was pretty good, but you’re absolutely right in saying that it wasn’t a classic like it could have been.

    • Yeah, it was definitely marketed well, absolutely. I’m debating whether the little girl’s voiceover being Sarah Silverman had a significantly negative influence on how I viewed this film. So much innocence… yet, obviously fake.

    • I don’t blame people for really enjoying it. I probably just had my expectations too high. The scenes involving the Halo-type game just didn’t do it for me, so that’s probably part of it. Plus, I really didn’t like the people who lived in the building Ralph wrecks in his game.

      • I think they were meant to be unlikeable… part of what makes the audience sympathize with Ralph is that his desire for recognition is completely justified.

Leave a Reply

