Heathers [Review 48 for FQ13]

fq2013_yellow

Why I Saw It: Some people consider it a classic from the 1980’s, and because it’s not what I would consider to be a “high profile” classic, I never got around to seeing it. Must be a cult classic, eh? Either way, I had always heard about it, but until it popped up on my suggested viewings on Netflix, I had never gotten around to giving it serious consideration.

What Was It About?  “A regular girl, Veronica, tries to survive the social jungle of high school by sticking with the three most popular girls at school who are all called Heather. As she meets a sociopath named JD, her life spirals into a continuous cycle of hate, unintentional murder and indifference, as she exacts revenge on her enemies, also known as her best friends.” (from imdb)

Rating: 6.2 out of 10

Memorable Performances: I’ve enjoyed Christian Slater’s performance more than this one in almost everything else I’ve seen him in… though that might make this memorable. Because she’s the main character and she commits some acts of violence, I’ll probably remember Winona Ryder’s performance here… but it’s not necessarily her best.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: I don’t think I had any favorite scenes in this movie, aside from maybe the one involving a hanging, if only because it reminded me of what happened in BEETLEJUICE.

The Regrettable Aspects: The film’s 6.2 rating is owed primarily to the interesting premise, as I just wasn’t thrilled with how it played out or how it was presented. The ending, while interesting, wasn’t nearly as good as it could’ve been, and the performances by the leads in those boiler-room moments were lackluster.

Would I watch it again? If my wife or friends wanted to watch it, I’d sit through another viewing, but probably not more than once in the next 10 years.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  If someone is trying to see as many films from the 1980’s as possible, in hopes to somehow build up their understanding of what that decade in film was all about, this should certainly be on the list. For people who like morbid humor or films with vastly different premises than most of what Hollywood produces, I’d point them in this direction.

Other Recommendations:

BEETLEJUICE – Seriously, if you haven’t seen Beetlejuice, just go see it. Now. It’s absolutely a classic, and it’s similar to HEATHERS in the fact that it has a significantly morbid side to it… and it stars Winona Ryder. I’d find it hard to believe anyone would rate HEATHERS higher than BEETLEJUICE… though I suppose it happens.

– PUMP UP THE VOLUME – If you want a film where Christian Slater is acting out against society, this is where you should look. No doubt about it, it’s far and away the better flick.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to HEATHERS, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… ZERO DARK THIRTY!

One response to “Heathers [Review 48 for FQ13]

  1. I saw this for the first time last year. I liked it better than you; I thought it was a pretty funny film, and I thought both Ryder and Slater did a good job with their characters, as did the actresses playing the Heathers.

Leave a Reply

