Jackie Brown [Review 46 for FQ13]

jackie-brown_1-636

Why I Saw It: The more I see from Tarantino, the more I find there is to enjoy. I’m not a fanatic like many of his fans are, but I find most of his films to be fun. As this was one of the few films of his I hadn’t seen, it was an obvious choice to add to the list. Besides, look at the cast.

What Was It About?  “A female flight attendant becomes a key figure in a plot between the police and an arms dealer.

Rating: 8.6 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Outside of three episodes of Smallville, I wasn’t very familiar with Pam Grier’s work prior to this film. Though it wasn’t a performance I would’ve given an Academy Award to, she certainly did a good job in the lead role. Robert Forster’s performance was also a memorable one for me, primarily because he was entertaining and I haven’t seen much of any of his other performances.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • None

Favorite Parts: I really enjoyed the plot, and (to a lesser degree than some other Tarantino films I’ve seen) I enjoyed the dialogue too. You can add “the presentation” to that list, but I don’t have specific examples I would cite.

The Regrettable Aspects: The performance given by Michael Keaton was one of my least favorite I’ve seen from him (in a movie that wasn’t terrible). Same with Robert DeNiro. Neither did a bad job, I just didn’t enjoy the characters… at least until the end of the film, in DeNiro’s case. I really didn’t like Bridget Fonda’s character, either… though I don’t know that I can list that as a “regrettable aspect”, because I enjoyed it when her character got killed near the end of the film.

Would I watch it again? I will, especially if one of my local movie theaters I enjoy visiting put it on the big screen.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Anyone who likes movies that are a little more complicated than initially meets the eye, especially when criminal activities are involved and there are double-crosses mixed in.

Other Recommendations:

TRUE ROMANCE – One of my favorite Tarantino films, it certainly deserves a lot more consideration than it’s given.

–  GO – It’s a complicated film, but there’s plenty in the way of fun interactions between characters .

LAYER CAKE – Though it’s British and has a less jovial tone, I draw the comparison based on the strong dialogue and complicated-yet-very-entertaining production.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to JACKIE BROWN, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… TUCKER AND DALE VS EVIL!

4 responses to “Jackie Brown [Review 46 for FQ13]

  1. Yeah, I don’t know about similar movies, but you can’t know the history of film, without watching at least one Pam Grier, blaxplotation film, so I’m recommending, “Foxy Brown”, not as alternative, ’cause “Jackie Brown”, is a masterpiece, but as an add-on, at least.

    • I really wanted to recommend “Foxy Brown”, but because I haven’t seen it yet, I couldn’t include it. We can consider it an unofficial recommendation though.

  2. Pingback: The Descendants [FQ13 #64] | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

