Bad Boys [Review 44 for FQ13]

Why I Saw It: With all the hype I’ve heard for Bad Boys 2, I figured I really needed to finally sit down and watch these two films.

What Was It About?  “Two hip detectives protect a murder witness while investigating a case of stolen heroin.

Rating:7.4 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Though Martin Lawrence wasn’t great in his role, he was good enough that it’s going to be memorable for him. Will Smith has done considerably better performances in considerably better films. Tea Leoni… maybe, if for no other reason than she was portrayed as a young hottie, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen her in that sort of role before.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best On-screen Duo – Martin Lawrence & Will Smith

Favorite Parts: The car chase near the end was good, if for only a minute or two. The opening scene with Will and Martin in the Porsche was enjoyable, and I liked how it provided more depth to their respective characters than the entire rest of the film did.

The Regrettable Aspects: The mistaken identity gag went on too long. The friction it caused between Martin Lawrence’s character and the character’s wife was slightly annoying.

Would I watch it again? I definitely won’t seek out an opportunity.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  Actually, it depends on how good Bad Boys II ends up being. If the sequel isn’t very good, I probably wouldn’t recommend people waste their time with this series.

Other Recommendations:

LETHAL WEAPON – Seems like an obvious choice for a buddy cop film, right? I’d be willing to bet that most people have already seen this, but perhaps there are some people like myself who waited too long and hadn’t seen it yet.

–  RUSH HOUR – The buddy cop film took a different turn in this one, and I really liked the chemistry between Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to BAD BOYS, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up… THE PIANIST!

One response to “Bad Boys [Review 44 for FQ13]

Leave a Reply

