Box Office Gut Feeling: June 7th Weekend 2013

When I decide what to see in the theaters, I like to take into account what other reviewers have said about films currently in the theater. But while I like to take an informed approach, I obviously do have a “gut feeling” about movies, based on what I’ve seen from trailers, the performers involved, writers, directors and previous films.

This article, and the ones which will follow as part of a periodic new feature on this site, will explain the “Gut Feeling” I have pertaining to the various movies hitting theaters that weekend.

Here goes nothing… feedback appreciated!

The Internship

Internship-213022

Because I loved WEDDING CRASHERS, I’d bet that I’ll really like The Internship… though I don’t expect it to be as good as their previous endeavor. Owen Wilson and Vince Vaughn are both very entertaining, and together they’re worth more than the sum of their parts. I fully expect this to be better than HALL PASS and THE BREAK-UP.

The Purge

There’s no chance I’m seeing this, and I don’t expect much from it. The premise is absurd, even if they found some way to make it the least bit plausible that the government would allow for a 12-hour period where criminal offenses are non-punishable.

Much Ado About Nothing

I’m highly anticipating this film. Joss Whedon is great at interpersonal relationships on screen, and I’m certain he did a great job translating this Shakespearian work into a very relateable flick. I don’t expect much from the box office on this one, and I don’t think that the public en masse is going to love it. I’m far and away not a Shakespeare snob, nor would I guess I’ve read more than a half-dozen of his works (I haven’t counted), and I don’t predict you have to have much of a history with enjoying The Bard’s work to appreciate what Whedon did here.

Wish You Were Here

I really like Joel Edgerton’s work, and I’ve enjoyed what I’ve seen from the talented Teresa Palmer. The plot to this one looks to be something which should make for a good flick: “Four friends lose themselves in a carefree South-East Asian holiday. Only three come back. Dave and Alice return home to their young family desperate for answers about Jeremy’s mysterious disappearance.” This will likely be one of those movies which people point to as an example of the skills Palmer and Edgerton can put on display, though won’t probably make much money. I’ll get around to seeing it, though probably not until I can see it at home.

As Cool As I Am

Claire Danes and James Marsden. Both talented, but neither make me jump to go see a film. That said, this should be an entertaining flick. It’s listed as a comedy, and has a decent premise: “A smart teenage girl comes of age in a small town with her self-centered parents who had her when they were teenagers“. I will absolutely be looking for it on video, but not until after I see WISH YOU WERE HERE.

Violet & Daisy

A 2011 flick which is just now hitting theaters? With this premise, I’m glad it’s being described (at least partially) as a comedy. “Two teenage assassins accept what they think will be a quick-and-easy job, until an unexpected target throws them off their plan.” Could be good… but I’m not expecting anything great. It was written by the guy who did the screenplay for PRECIOUS, so the writing could help the project pull through into something entertaining. This is (writer) Geoffrey Fletcher’s directorial debut, so that weighs into my expectations. I’ll be looking forward to the reviews.

Syrup

I’ve seen good things from Amber Heard, and I’ve seen average things from her. With a supporting cast of Kellan Lutz, Brittany Snow and Rachel Dratch, I’m not expecting much, though I will say that there have been movies like this before which end up being far more entertaining and of higher quality than previously expected. The writer, Max Barry, is a first-timer who already has another project in the works, so I’m guessing someone saw the quality in the script (adapted from Barry’s own novel).

2 responses to “Box Office Gut Feeling: June 7th Weekend 2013

  1. Hmm. I’m not how I feel about, making predictions like that about movies one hasn’t seen, personally, but I would change the title of these articles to-eh, well, I’d get rid of “Box Office”, because there’s a few other bloggers out there, than actually do make “Box Office Predictions,” trying to determine, which movies will finish where in the Top Ten, and so forth, and when I saw “Box Office Gut Feeling”, I thought, oh you’re doing Carnac prognostications too. I would just call it “Gut Feelings”; that pretty explains the whole premise of the series. Maybe, “Coming Attractions” or “New Releases Gut Feelings”, but-eh,… anyway I would get rid of “Box Office”.

Leave a Reply

