A Fork In The Road [Review 37 for FQ13]

fq2013_yellow

Why I Saw It: My college roommate told me about this film and recommended I give it a shot. Because I enjoy discussing movies with people, that was essentially the only reason I needed to watch a movie I could watch on Netflix Instant.

What Was It About?  “An escaped convict inadvertently takes refuge in a barn the same night the owner gets into a terrible fight. A gun shot goes off inside the house, a body is dragged out of the house, and now they must cooperate or both go to prison. While seeking to dispose of the body, they determine he’s not dead after all, so the adventure becomes a kidnapping nightmare.

Rating: 6.9 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Seeing as how I don’t recall Jaime King’s characters from anything else I’ve seen her in, and she had a starring role in this, that would make it memorable for her. Other than that, not really anyone.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: I can’t think of any parts of note.

The Regrettable Aspects: The plot bordered on being convoluted, but walked the line nicely. There weren’t enough laughs for it to be a comedy I’d recommend to many people, and there weren’t any other redeeming qualities (action sequences like a gunfight, fist-fight, car chases; scenes with enjoyable nudity in them; etc).

Would I watch it again? I would watch for a few minutes if I stumbled across it on television somewhere, but I probably wouldn’t stick around much after a few minutes.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  I’d recommend it to anyone who had already expressed some sort of interest in Jaime King or Josh Cooke, as this could be considered a significant part of their respective resumes.

Other Recommendations:

GROUP SEX – I had seen Josh Cooke in something prior to watching this film, and it’s a significantly better comedy with an awkward name (which stems from a few of the people being involved in Sexaholics Anonymous).

THE SPIRIT – As far as I recall, Jaime King was the main love interest in that flick, and although a lot of people disliked the film, it’s worth a watch if you haven’t seen it, especially if you like Jaime King. It has some decent action, which at times borders on ridiculously absurd (which I don’t typically enjoy, but I did in this film).

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to A FORK IN THE ROAD, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, THE MAN WHO SHOT LIBERTY VALANCE.

Leave a Reply

