Your Sister’s Sister [Review 30 for FQ13]

your-sisters-sister3

Why I Saw It: It’s all about the people involved in the film. I’ve enjoyed the work of Mark Duplass in THE LEAGUE and SAFETY NOT GUARANTEED. Emily Blunt’s quality work snuck up on me, with this somehow marking the third film of hers in the Film Quest 2013 (FIVE YEAR ENGAGEMENT and LOOPER), not to mention that I enjoyed her work in SUNSHINE CLEANING (which I saw a few years ago). And RoseMarie Dewitt caught my eye in the first season of Mad Men, and I don’t know that I’ve seen her in much else since then.

What Was It About?  “Iris invites her friend Jack to stay at her family’s island getaway after the death of his brother. At their remote cabin, Jack’s drunken encounter with Hannah, Iris’ sister, kicks off a revealing stretch of days.

Rating: 8.1 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Because all three actors were good in their respective roles, and it was largely a character-driven piece, I’d say it’s a memorable film for all of them.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Supporting Actress – RoseMarie DeWitt
  • Best Supporting Actress – Emily Blunt
  • Best Actor – Mark Duplass

Favorite Parts: The chemistry between DeWitt and Duplass was great during the drinking scene just after he gets to the cabin. The part near the end where Duplass is dealing with the fallout from everything, including the part involving a dumpster, was great as well.

The Regrettable Aspects: There isn’t much that’s regrettable about this movie, other than the fact that it wasn’t a mini-series. I don’t know that a sequel would be the right way to go, but I would’ve enjoyed this film’s material if it had been spread out over 6 episodes of about 45 minutes each, exploring a bit more of the background of a few situations (the deceased brother, the family history for the sisters, DeWitt’s character’s past relationship, and the aftermath of the test at the end of the film).

Would I watch it again? I probably will at some point, though there’s not much about the film which compels me to want to do so. If someone wanted to watch it, I’d join them in the endeavor, and if I come across it on a cable network at some point, I’ll probably tune in.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  I’d recommend it to anyone who appreciates a well performed drama.

Other Recommendations:

THE FAMILY STONE – This is a decent drama with a bit of comedy which deals, in part, with death and inter-personal relationships.

SUNSHINE CLEANING – It’s probably the best film I’ve seen with Emily Blunt in it, and more applicable to this film than LOOPER or ADJUSTMENT BUREAU.

– FRIENDS WITH KIDS – A fun movie which deals with issues facing 20-/30-somethings, like the complexities of growing up, potential romances between friends, and how kids affect things. (my Friends With Kids review)

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to YOUR SISTER’S SISTER, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, THE IMPOSTER.

One response to “Your Sister’s Sister [Review 30 for FQ13]

  1. Good review my man. This is one of those movies where I just wanted to hear these characters talk and interact with one another. That was a sure bit of fun, especially once shit hits the fan for them all.

Leave a Reply

