Perfect Storm [Review 27 for FQ13]

perfect-storm_210

Why I Saw It: It’s one of those films that everyone was talking about when it was released, and because I never saw it, I always felt like I missed out on something. Given the chance to watch it through one of the channels in my cable TV lineup, I took the opportunity to watch it. While I wasn’t necessarily interested in it while it was in theaters, due to my disinterest in films about boats and submarines, in the decade which followed this film’s release I did watch quite a bit of Deadliest Catch. Plus, there’s Diane Lane.

What Was It About?  “An unusually intense storm pattern catches some commercial fishermen unaware and puts them in mortal danger.

Notable Cast & Crew:  George Clooney, Mark Wahlberg, Diane Lane, John C. Reily, William Fichtner (you’d know him if you saw him), Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, Michael Ironside (for a minute). Director: Wolfgang Peterson

My Rating: 7.7 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Not really any of them. I’ve seen better from Mark Wahlberg, Diane Lane and John C. Reily. Oddly enough, I thought George Clooney fit the role of a fishing boat captain rather well.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • None

Favorite Parts: There weren’t really any parts I’d consider to be a “favorite”.

The Regrettable Aspects: There weren’t really any regrettable scenes, either. It wasn’t great, it wasn’t terrible. It had a decent script and good special effects. Just nothing exceptional, and nothing exceptionally bad.

Would I watch it again? I would if someone else wanted to, but I wouldn’t seek out another viewing. For any reason.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  I’d recommend it to anyone who likes realistic special effects. And George Clooney.

Other Recommendations:

INVINCIBLE – Mark Wahlberg does a good job of being a regular guy, not too goofy, not too serious, just a guy who’s working hard for something he wants. A lot like what his character is all about in PERFECT STORM.

UP IN THE AIR – for George Clooney in a movie where he’s not just smirking all the time, this is one of the more entertaining films I’ve seen in that category.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to PERFECT STORM, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, PLANES, TRAINS AND AUTOMOBILES.

3 responses to “Perfect Storm [Review 27 for FQ13]

  1. A memorable performance by the special effects crew – the blending of the practical and digital effects was quite satisfying for the era; the storm is epic but we humans are relatively puny. One alternative is Life of Pi, but perhaps Das Boot (for life at sea) or Twister (for action)?

    • Good call regarding Twister, I hadn’t thought of that one. I haven’t seen Life Of Pi yet, but I’m betting you’re right. Same with Das Boot. Both are on my list. Thanks for the comment!

  2. Great review, I like your posting style. I just watched this for the very first time over the weekend and can’t say I enjoyed it as much as you. I kind of regret looking up what the perfect storm actually was and I read by mistake what happened to them. Total fail on my part.

Leave a Reply

