The Five Year Engagement [Review 22 for FQ13]

thefiveyearengagement

That picture fairly well sums up how I felt watching the film. If someone’s going to make a huge sacrifice so you can follow your dream, keep that in mind when you’re thinking about forcing them to continue making sacrifices.

The Five Year Engagement

Why I Saw It: I typically like Jason Segel, and although I have less history with Emily Blunt, she has been entertaining in some things I’ve seen her in.

What Was It About?  “One year after meeting, Tom proposes to his girlfriend, Violet, but unexpected events keep tripping them up as they look to walk down the aisle together.

Rating: 6.5 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Probably none for the right reasons.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: The fact that they were at the University Of Michigan was cool to me, as that’s one of my favorite universities for a variety of reasons. Rhys Ifans did a decent job, as per usual. And I really enjoyed the part where they were making decisions regarding their pending ceremony (not REALLY a spoiler).

The Regrettable Aspects: There were quite a few things:

– the extent to which they changed Jason Segel’s character during his time in Michigan (at some point, it became a farce… and a lame one at that)

– the degree to which Emily Blunt’s character was selfish during the middle of the story, especially in light of the sacrifices made by Jason Segel’s character (seriously, I’m a Wolverines fan, but there ARE places other than University Of Michigan)

– Alison Brie’s accent (you’re a good actress, but British Accent shouldn’t be on your resume)

– the best friend was annoying, and didn’t really seem like a good friend

Would I watch it again? I would really rather not, but I wouldn’t fight too strongly against it.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who really likes Emily Blunt or Jason Segel. NOT to Alison Brie fans (partially due to her regrettable accent, partially because she’s not in the movie enough for it to matter).

Other Recommendations:

FORGETTING SARAH MARSHALL – here’s a much better example of what Jason Segel is capable of doing as the lead in a comedy about relationships. Every time I see this film, I enjoy it more. Not to mention, there’s a puppet Dracula opera thrown in near the end for good measure.

SUNSHINE CLEANING – the first film in which I remember seeing Emily Blunt perform, though it’s probably more of an Amy Adams film.

I LOVE YOU, MAN – another film from Jason Segel, and although he isn’t the lead, he’s still prominently featured

I had a hard time with it, so if you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to THE FIVE YEAR ENGAGEMENT, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, TOP HAT.

2 responses to “The Five Year Engagement [Review 22 for FQ13]

  1. Good review bud. It’s a bit too long, but still kept me happy and laughing. Chris Pratt was awesome and I would have much rather saw his story more developed and taken to center-stage.

  2. Pingback: Your Sister’s Sister [Review 30 for FQ13] | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

