Pitch Perfect [Review 20 for FQ13]

fq2013_yellow

Any time you move to a new place and you want to find somewhere to fit in, it’s probably best to choose a group full of people who you don’t respect, don’t enjoy spending time with, and try to find a way to fit in… but only after they interrupt your shower and won’t leave until you SING with them.

Pitch Perfect

Why I Saw It: I heard it was an entertaining film, and I enjoy a lot of the performances I’ve seen from Anna Kendrick.

What Was It About?  “Beca, a freshman at Barden University, is cajoled into joining The Bellas, her school’s all-girls singing group. Injecting some much needed energy into their repertoire, The Bellas take on their male rivals in a campus competition.

Rating: 7.7 out of 10
This is where I have to walk a fine line between an enjoyable movie and the quality of the movie. While several aspects of this film were entertaining/enjoyable, overall it wasn’t a great flick. Certainly above average, but it’s not of considerably high quality.

Memorable Performances: Anna Kendrick was good, but the only memorable part about this performance was the aspect of her character being a bit of a rebel and rough around the edges… for the first part of the film anyway.  Anna Camp did a good job with the typical bitchy girl role and didn’t take it too far. Adam DeVine continues to grab my attention, though at times he can be a bit over-the-top for me. The most entertaining from the group was Rebel Wilson, whose laugh-factor* was considerably high. (* – laugh-factor being a ratio between the amount of laughs she provides compared to the amount of lines / on-screen time she gets)

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: The acapella battle in the empty swimming pool was a fun part. Though I typically don’t find much humor in projectile vomiting, I did laugh a bit when it happened to Anna Camp. Some of the other performance scenes were mildly entertaining as well.

The Regrettable Aspects: The story didn’t grab me as much as it could’ve, and it’s probably because the characters made choices which didn’t make sense to me. Why anyone would want to be part of that particular acapella group is beyond me, especially when it seems like an activity with considerably low start-up cost, where the characters could’ve formed their own group.

Would I watch it again? If someone else really wants to watch it, I won’t mind sitting through it again, but I won’t seek out an opportunity.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who enjoys GLEE or liked the movie MEAN GIRLS.

Other Recommendations:

MEAN GIRLS – similar concepts are involved in this film as are in PITCH PERFECT… without most of the singing. It takes the bitchiness to the next level, though the acting and storyline are better.

I had a hard time with it, so if you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to PITCH PERFECT, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, INDIE GAME: THE MOVIE.

2 responses to “Pitch Perfect [Review 20 for FQ13]

Leave a Reply

