L.A. Confidential [Review 19 for FQ13]

fq2013_green

As unlikely a trio of characters as you’d ever think would work together to solve a crime.

L.A. Confidential

Why I Saw It: I’ve been embarking on a quest to see as many Academy Award Best Picture nominees as possible, so this obviously had to be on the list.

What Was It About?  “As corruption grows in 1950s LA, three policemen – the straight-laced, the brutal, and the sleazy – investigate a series of murders with their own brand of justice.

Rating: 8.9 out of 10

Memorable Performances: They picked three great options for the aforementioned “three policemen” – Guy Pearce, Russell Crowe and Kevin Spacey – and each of them did great work. As good, if not better, was Kim Basinger (which isn’t surprising, given she won Best Supporting Actress at that year’s Academy Awards). Danny DeVito had a strong performance, and James Cromwell did as well.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Actor – Guy Pearce
  • Best Supporting Actor – Russell Crowe
  • Best Supporting Actor – Kevin Spacey
  • Best Supporting Actor – James Cromwell
  • Best Supporting Actress – Kim Basinger

Favorite Parts: The final shootout scene was one of the best of its kind I’ve seen. I quite enjoyed the smarminess of Spacey’s character when they make the calculated bust with the press on-hand.

The Regrettable Aspects: There really weren’t any.

Would I watch it again? I’ll probably watch it at some point when I’m walking through a list of movies I want to watch with my dad.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who enjoys a good crime drama and/or 1950’s period piece.

Other Recommendations:

Count Of Monte Cristo – though I could’ve recommended a viewing of Memento to see what else Guy Pearce is capable of, in terms of great acting, but I’m guessing most people reading this review have already seen that. I haven’t heard as much praise for Count Of Monte Cristo, and while it wasn’t as good a movie as MEMENTO, it was really enjoyable.

State Of Play – similarly with Pearce’s MEMENTO, most people know of Russell Crowe’s work in A BEAUTIFUL MIND. That’s why I’d recommend the inferior-yet-enjoyable STATE OF PLAY, which wasn’t as deep of a role for Crowe, but is perhaps more similar to his work in L.A. Confidential.

8 Mile – while looking for another good performance from Kim Basinger, the best I could come up with is 8 Mile, but it’s still a heck of a good performance from her.

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to L.A. Confidential, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, PITCH PERFECT.

2 responses to “L.A. Confidential [Review 19 for FQ13]

Leave a Reply

