Looper [FQ13 Review 15]

Looper-2012-Movie-Banner-Poster-FP

If you ever run into a younger version of yourself, don’t assume you’ll get along.

Why I Saw LOOPER: I heard it was one of the best science fiction movies in years, and given that I was already interested in the premise, my interest was considerably high.

What Was It About?  “In 2074, when the mob wants to get rid of someone, the target is sent 30 years into the past, where a hired gun awaits. Someone like Joe, who one day learns the mob wants to ‘close the loop’ by transporting back Joe’s future self.

Rating: 9.0 out of 10

Memorable Performances: This movie just goes to show another level of depth in Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s talent. Not only did the special effects makeup artists alter his facial features and hair to make him seem more like a young Bruce Willis, but I’ve heard that he spent a lot of time studying Bruce’s mannerisms, and it showed. In the special features of the film, there was an interesting quote from Emily Blunt where she said that backstage, she barely recognized JGL.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • Best Actor – Joseph Gordon-Levitt

Favorite Parts: I was blown away by the scenes where you get a better idea for just how special Emily Blunt’s son is, and the ending is incredible – one of the most stunning and awesome scenes I’ve seen ever.

The Regrettable Aspects: There really weren’t any, though I wish they had decided to go a bit more in-depth with the relationship between Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s “Joe” character and Piper Perabo’s “Suzie”.

Would I watch it again? I’ll watch it anytime I happen to see it available on TV, and if it becomes available on Netflix Instant at any point, I’ll probably check it out there as well. I don’t typically buy movies on DVD/Blu-ray, but I’m seriously considering getting this one, in which case I’d watch it once or twice a year.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who likes movies with somewhat complex-yet-awesome storylines, and anyone who likes science fiction.

Other Recommendations:

– Back To The Future – though I’m sure anyone reading this has already seen Back To The Future, probably multiple times, I list this as a recommendation because they both deal with time travel in similar ways.

Deja Vu – a Denzel Washington film for which I haven’t heard enough praise. Decent performances, deals with time travel (with a similar device, might I add, to what Looper uses).

– In Time – both films have complex plots and deal with new technology which fundamentally impact living and dying for the individuals involved

– Inception – a reality-bending sci-fi film with plenty of cause/effect aspects to the storyline, and the moral ambiguity raised throughout the story

If you’ve got recommendations for alternatives to LOOPER, or for other similar films, let me know!

Next up, TINY FURNITURE.

2 responses to “Looper [FQ13 Review 15]

  1. Good review bud. It’s a good film, no doubt about it, but a tad disappointing. Nothing perfect, but still very good nonetheless. Loved the vision and loved the originality.

  2. Pingback: Your Sister’s Sister [Review 30 for FQ13] | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

