God Bless America [FQ13 Review 13]

fq2013_yellow

Sometimes people hate Reality TV more than I do.

God Bless America

Why I Saw It: I thought the concept looked interesting and it was getting decent reviews from people I know.

What Was It About?  “On a mission to rid society of its most repellent citizens, terminally ill Frank makes an unlikely accomplice in 16-year-old Roxy.

Rating: 7.0 out of 10

Memorable Performances: Though I always end up forgetting his name, this performance from Joel Murray is one I’ll remember him for… along with Mad Men.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’13:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: I loved it when the concept kicked in… and it wasn’t just a case of him day-dreaming. His rants had me laughing.

The Regrettable Aspects: The ending could’ve been much more satisfying, though to some extent, it almost had to end that way.

Would I watch it again? Even though I can’t necessarily envision a scenario where I’ll end up seeing it again, if one or two of my friends haven’t seen it and they’d wait to watch it until we can get together and check it out, I’d absolutely sit through it again.

To Whom Would I Recommend It?  To anyone who hates reality TV and doesn’t mind a bit of violence. Or a lot of violence.

Other Recommendations:

Zombieland – dark humor, tons of gun-play, some social commentary. And zombies.

Equilibrium – though it doesn’t have any of the dark humor involved, it does have a ton of gun-play, and an equally intriguing premise

Drop Dead Gorgeous – plenty of dark humor and satire

As always, if you have any recommendations for alternatives to GOD BLESS AMERICA, I’d love to hear about it in the comments!

Next up, SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK.

3 responses to “God Bless America [FQ13 Review 13]

  1. Good post. I started this movie one night on Netflix and even though, I must admit, I did like the concept, I became bored with it. I am going to give it another shot, though. Thanks!

    • May as well get all the way through it. It does pick up a little bit, though the ending had a lot of people feeling a bit let-down. How far through it did you get?

      • I believe I got as far as the part when they first hit the road. Not too far in. I will re-try it this coming weekend. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

