Restrepo [FQ13 Review 10]

fq2013_green

A great look at the conditions faced in Afghanistan.

Restrepo

Why I Saw It: There is plenty of footage of what’s going on in Iraq, but considerably less about the battlefront in Afghanistan. Given that our country sent soldiers there, I wanted better insight into what it was like there.

Rating: 8.0 out of 10
I’ve seen better documentaries, but I got more than I was hoping for with this film. It showed plenty of heart and provided enough to present the personalities of the soldiers.

Honestly, as you can see, there’s considerably less information shared in this review than what I usually put. Given the nature of what this film involves, I’m not going to talk about “performances” or “regrettable aspects” or any of those things. Not because the film doesn’t deserve it, but because I respect the sacrifices those soldiers make every day, and I don’t want to minimize it by nit-picking things from the film.

Would I watch it again? Eventually I’ll probably watch it with my son or my nephew, showing them what war conditions are all about.

Next up, All Star Superman.

One response to “Restrepo [FQ13 Review 10]

  1. A very powerful and engrossing documentary that places you in a setting, and makes you feel as if you are right there. One of the best films from 2010, and by-far the best documentary. Nice review bud.

Leave a Reply

