Review 91 – King Of California

filmquest12

Sometimes crazy old maps and reading between the lines is more effective than Mapquest.

King Of California

Why I Saw It: As I was looking for a comedy for my wife and I to watch one night through Netflix Instant, I stumble across a film with a crazy looking Michael Douglas. There are only so many times you can pass up something like that.

What Was It About? Guy gets out of a mental institution and seeks to reconnect with his daughter through embarking on a treasure hunt.

Rating: 7.7 out of 10

Memorable Performances: This was certainly the most unique performance I can recall seeing from Michael Douglas, who apparently pulls off “half crazy musician” rather believably. Evan Rachel Wood was also really good in her role as the daughter.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Michael Douglas
  • Best Actress – Evan Rachel Wood

Favorite Parts: I laughed quite a bit during the final scene with the Costco, when Michael Douglas is rushing around in a wet suit. The very final scene in the movie was also a really great way to wrap things up.

The Regrettable Aspects: There perhaps weren’t enough side characters, or the side characters who were involved just weren’t strong enough.

Would I watch it again? Maybe. It was enjoyable, but at this point I don’t want to see it again any time soon… for reasons I can’t find a way to convey.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Anyone who likes to see good actors in weird roles, anyone who likes quirky comedies, or people seeking to see something “different”.

Next up, Half Nelson.

Leave a Reply

