Review 89 – Magic Mike

filmquest12

If you’re a stripper trying to get a loan, it’s best to ask the loan officer to see what you do for a living first.

Magic Mike

Why I Saw It: Actually, I answered this question with an entire article. Some of the actors and the director made a compelling case to at least give it a chance.

What Was It About? Male strippers, some with ambitions, some without, and the people who love them. Or might like them somewhat.

Rating: 7.2 out of 10

Memorable Performances: There were some things I saw in this movie that I won’t soon forget… but not necessarily for good reasons. Olivia Munn’s involvement was somewhat memorable, and not just for the nude scene.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • none

Favorite Parts: I had a great laugh at how serious they treated the dance practice… but that’s all I can think to mention, aside from maybe the interactions between Olivia Munn and Channing Tatum.

The Regrettable Aspects: The film fell flat. I was hoping for a great script to surround some random stripping scenes with hopefully a minimal amount of skin from the fellas. While there wasn’t much skin shown, the decent concept for a plot just wasn’t developed. It’s like they spent all their time at the gym perfecting their brawn and didn’t spend enough time on the brain. Steven Soderbergh laid an egg here. I keep hearing that Channing Tatum is such a great entertainer… well all I really saw here was some enviable dance skills and decent acting during the dramatic scenes. Alex Pettyfer did a decent job, but it was a huge step down from what I saw of him from IN TIME, and even a bit of a step down from his I AM NUMBER FOUR performance. Matthew Bomer didn’t have as much of a role as I had  hoped. I don’t want to hear any more praise for Joe Manganiello until he deserves it, which clearly isn’t the case here.

Would I watch it again? Probably not. Unless, of course, there’s some sort of Director’s Cut out there where the plot is totally played up and the stripping is toned down a bit.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? No one. Not even some of the unmarried ladies I’m friends with.

Next up, Justice League: Doom.

2 responses to “Review 89 – Magic Mike

  1. Good review my mans. I had a great time with this flick because I loved the style that Soderbergh gave off, the energy that he had with the stripping scenes, and the story that actually took me. Also, the performances weren’t too shabby, either.

Leave a Reply

