Review 84 – SHERLOCK: A Scandal In Belgravia

Sherlock-A_Scandal_in_Belgravia_

Beware the naked women, for even they have something to hide.

SHERLOCK: A Scandal In Belgravia

Why I Saw It: The first episode in the series was great, so I continued with the second, then the third even still. If you don’t understand why I’m reviewing episodes of a series, please refer to either the article on the entire series itself, or to the review I did for the first episode of the series.

Memorable Performances: The way Lara Pulver portrayed Irene Adler and the interactions between she and Benedict Cumberbatch created an intriguing dynamic… and it had very little to do with the nude scene.  Also, this episode added considerable depth to the Sherlock character, partially due to the writing, but also due to the great work by Cumberbatch. Una Stubbs gave a memorable performance as the role of Mrs Hudson got a bit more prominence in this episode.

The Regrettable Aspects: The very end of the episode, by which I mean the closing minute, felt a bit forced and unnecessary.

Would I watch it again? There’s a good chance I’ll watch it before 2013 is over, I’ll watch all six episodes again. If I skip any episodes as I go through, this won’t be one of them.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Everyone who likes a great mystery, and I’ll recommend it more strongly to anyone who was underwhelmed by the second episode in the series. As for the mention of “nudity”, that won’t play a factor, as there’s not ACTUALLY anything shown.

Rating: 9.1 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actress Nominee – Lara Pulver
  • Best Supporting Actress Nominee – Una Stubbs

Next up, SHERLOCK: The Hounds Of Baskerville.

Leave a Reply

