Review 80 – Hesher

With friends like these, who needs bullies?

Hesher

Why I Saw It: Joseph Gordon-Levitt is on my “seek out” list, and for a while, Rainn Wilson was almost on it as well. I figured this film was going to have some endearing aspects to it.

What’s It About? A kid is going through a rough time at home, and then he’s getting bullied at school, and then an older bully starts showing up at his house and dives in and becomes a weird part of the kid’s family.

Memorable Performances: Probably none of them.

The Regrettable Aspects: Watching this movie was entirely regrettable. If you’re going to have a character who is abrasive by nature, and he’s your protagonist, at least give him some scenes where he becomes endeared to the audience. And if you can’t, then perhaps you should make the other characters entertaining. Also, I went into this film thinking it was at least partially a comedy. You’d do better to consider it a soft horror flick.  How does a movie with Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Natalie Portman go THIS wrong?!

Would I watch it again? I really, really, really, really hope not. If someone else saw it and found some redeeming qualities to it, and they made a strong case that I should rewatch it, I’d probably watch it… but I think there’s an 18 month waiting period before I can handle that again.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? I know one or two people who liked the movie SUPER, another under-whelming Rainn Wilson movie… and I still probably wouldn’t recommend Hesher to those people.

Rating: 5.3 out of 10

I would’ve rated it lower, but the performances weren’t completely terrible, and the storyline had potential.

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • none

Next up, SHERLOCK: A Study In Pink.

Leave a Reply

