Review 79 – Monsters

monsters1

When Monsters invade Mexico, perhaps it’s a good time to get the heck out of Mexico.

Monsters

Why I Saw It: A few times I passed by this movie on Netflix Instant without even giving its premise a look, but when I started seeing it reviewed favorably and mentioned as a good movie which most people haven’t heard about, it quickly moved towards the top of my queue.

Memorable Performances: Both of the main characters did a really good job, and I had never even heard of Scoot McNairy or Whitney Able before seeing this film, and both of those things occurring in the same film VERY RARELY happens… though it did with Moonrise Kingdom and Attack The Block, too.

The Regrettable Aspects: The background story as to why the two main characters are even in Mexico when the film begins could’ve been better presented/explained, and it perhaps could’ve played into the storyline a bit more as the film progressed, but it hardly took away from an otherwise enjoyable film.

Would I watch it again? There’s a good chance I’ll watch it before 2013 is over, and I’m sure if I come across this film on television at some point, I’ll stay tuned in.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Anyone who’s not afraid of a little sci-fi. There’s a bit of blood in it, but not nearly as much as you might expect. There aren’t many people to whom I would shy away from recommending this film.

Rating: 8.1 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Picture
  • Best Actor Nominee – Scoot McNairy
  • Best Actress Nominee – Whitney Able

Next up, HESHER.

One response to “Review 79 – Monsters

  1. Good review Rob. It’s crazy to see Scoot lighting up the screen now in flicks like Argo and Killing Them Softly, only to know that this is where he got his start and showed everybody the promise he had. His real-life wife is also good, but Scoot stands-out.

Leave a Reply

