Review 78 – Act Of Valor

filmquest12

Navy SEALs are not to be messed with, and they can kill you without making a sound. Or they can kill you while making lots of noise. They’re legit, although we knew that before seeing the movie.

Act Of Valor

Why I Saw It: Although I knew the plot and acting weren’t going to be top notch, I fully expected awesome action sequences and various depictions of “badass-ery”. I’m not always a huge fan of big action films, but the inclusion of real Navy SEALs involved in this project certainly made it a special project. The decent reviews it was garnering also helped my interest level, though I knew to go into it with lowered expectations.

Memorable Performances: Any of the guys involved in the tactical action sequences were impressive to me, not necessarily from a “this guy can act” perspective, but certainly from the point of view that these are the kind of tasks these guys deal with as their job, and they absolutely seem like experts.

The Regrettable Aspects: The background stories they were including and the family-related dramatic elements were decent, but they could’ve done something stylistically to present them more effectively. It’s those elements which, to an extent, detracted from the film. I’m sure at some point, some FanEdits will be created to address those items, and the movie could play out all the better. As it stands, it comes across a bit too “preachy”, which isn’t fun when it happens in the delivery of dramas, let alone action films.

Would I watch it again? I really enjoyed the action, so if I could skip through some of the other scenes, or use those moments to go get popcorn or a soda or something, I’d be fine with another viewing. Not necessarily a movie I’ll seek out again, unless I decide to work up a FanEdit.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Anyone who’s a supporter of the Armed Forces who has any interest at all in action films.

Rating: 6.8 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • none

Next up, MONSTERS.

Leave a Reply

