Review 76 – The Puffy Chair

filmquest12

Buying stuff online can be almost as awesome as road trips.

The Puffy Chair

What It’s About: A guy and his girlfriend take a fateful road trip to go pick up a “puffy chair” he bought online, and along the way she gets to meet his brother.

Why I Saw It: I’m trying to get more accustomed with the work of Mark & Jay Duplass. You might know Mark Duplass as Pete, from The League, and you probably don’t know Jay Duplass, unless you’ve heard of the movie Cyrus… in which case you’re familiar with them already. Those guys, they wrote & directed this flick.

Memorable Performances: Rhett Wilkins and Mark Duplass gave good performances, and Katie Aselton’s performance was decent, but not memorable. I’m fairly certain that for Aselton and Duplass, their respective roles here won’t be memorable after I see them in more films.

The Regrettable Aspects: The pacing of the film dragged on a bit, so they could’ve added in another plot point or two along the way to help speed things along. The ending isn’t necessarily what I expected it to be, though I can’t decide if that’s a bad thing or not.

Would I watch it again? I might, if someone else ends up renting it and wants me to watch it with them… which isn’t necessarily all that likely aside from potentially one person in particular.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? If someone likes indie movies and inter-personal dramas with small scales, I’d recommend it. Especially if they tend to like road trips.

Rating: 7.4 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • None

Next up, YOUNG ADULT.

Leave a Reply

