Review 73 – Moonrise Kingdom

trailer7

If you’re planning on running away, make sure it’s with someone who’s ultra crafty at survival skills or is talented at telling stories.

Moonrise Kingdom

Why I Saw It: It’s a Wes Anderson film. After seeing Bottle Rocket and then Rushmore, I started seeing Wes Anderson films sight unseen. I avoid trailers and reviews, and I just see them. That approach has served me well, and it will continue.

Memorable Performances: Though I could, with good reason, name just about any of the actors in supporting roles, I’ll simply say that the two main characters – the teenage boy and girl – both did an amazing job. That said, I won’t soon forget the performance of Bruce Willis or Edward Norton.

The Regrettable Aspects: Not a single thing.

Would I watch it again? I will absolutely watch it at least once during 2013, and I considered watching it a second time the day after my initial viewing.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? I can’t think of anyone to whom I wouldn’t recommend this movie. There’s a brief scene involving some inadvertent violence  inflicted on an animal, but that likely wouldn’t be a huge deal-breaker for anyone. It’s less weird than Royal Tenenbaums, so the people who weren’t huge fans of that will still probably enjoy Moonrise Kingdom.

Rating: 9.0 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Jared Gilman
  • Best Actress – Kara Hayward
  • Best Supporting Actor – Edward Norton
  • Best Supporting Actor – Bruce Willis
  • Best Supporting Actor – Bill Murray

Next up, A FEW GOOD MEN.

Leave a Reply

