Review 71 – Argo

filmquest12

If you need to get things done in the middle east, you just need Canadians and lame Star Wars rip-offs.

Argo

Why I Saw It: I like political dramas, especially when they involve the intelligence community, even more when they’re true stories. Ben Affleck has proven to be a reliable source for above-average (or better) movies.

Memorable Performances: Ben Affleck did a really, really good job with his performance. Kerry Bishe showed some skills far better than what were on display in the Scrubs quasi-spinoff. Victor Garber was good, as was Alan Arkin, John Goodman and Bryan Cranston.

The Regrettable Aspects: Nothing that I can think of right off hand.

Would I watch it again? I wouldn’t turn down a chance to see it, though I probably wouldn’t pay to see it in the theater again… though I wouldn’t say that for many movies. I rated it high, but that doesn’t mean it has a high rewatchability factor.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? I won’t likely recommend it to anyone who likes a little history in their movies, some comedy in their dramas, or at least can enjoy movies with some C.I.A. action.

Rating: 8.6 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Ben Affleck
  • Best Supporting Actress – Kerry Bishe
  • Best Supporting Actor – Bryan Cranston
  • Best Supporting Actor – Alan Arkin
  • Best Supporting Actor – Victor Garber

Next up, THIS MEANS WAR.

One response to “Review 71 – Argo

  1. Pingback: Zero Dark Thirty [Review 49 for FQ13] | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

