Review 70 – Hunger Games

filmquest12

Don’t go into this movie expecting a story about people who eat competitively, because you’ll be disappointed. Or pleasantly surprised.

Hunger Games

Why I Saw It: After everything I had heard about the books, I read the first one and found it to be an enjoyable, quick read with a very interesting plot, so I read the entire trilogy. Part of the reason I read the books is because I heard Jennifer Lawrence was going to star in the movie adaptation, and she’s nearly on my “seek out” list.

Memorable Performances: To be honest, none of them. Lawrence was good here but is MUCH better elsewhere, and none of the supporting cast were all that great.

The Regrettable Aspects: Maybe it’s because I pictured the character a bit differently when I read the book, but I thought Woody Harrelson could’ve had a much stronger performance in his role. They should’ve added more to the script for the Cinna character, because by diverting from the source material like they did, it’s going to force them to either be ineffective in the sequel or have to go a slightly different route.

Would I watch it again? Right before I go to see Catching Fire (or Mockingjay, whichever is the second in the series), I’ll watch it again, but not for any other reason. Don’t get me wrong, it’s an interesting premise and it’s executed nicely, but it’s not necessarily a feel good movie, so the rewatchability is somewhat low.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? I won’t likely recommend it to anyone with little kids, especially if they don’t handle violence well.

Rating: 8.1 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actress – Jennifer Lawrence

Next up, ARGO.

Leave a Reply

