Review 69 – Haywire

Fassbender_Carano_Haywire

This lady kicks some ass, and it’s totally believable because it’s kinda her job in real life, too… only she doesn’t get to use guns in the octagon.

Haywire

Why I Saw It: Though I wasn’t expecting too much, this serves as another opportunity to help me form my opinion on Steven Soderbergh and some key actors – Michael Fassbender, Channing Tatum and Gina Carano. Involvement from Michael Douglas, Ewan McGregor, Bill Pullman and Antonio Banderas had me optimistic that it wasn’t going to be all-together terrible.

Memorable Performances: I’d certainly say that Gina Carano has some cross-over potential as a female action star in this one. Possibly in other dramatic roles, but that’s not definite yet.  She might need a strong director, but she’s certainly worthy of future opportunities. Michael Fassbender gave a good performance, as usual, which couldn’t have been easy based on the fight scene he had… which I won’t get into here. None of the other cast members were involved in the film long enough to leave a lasting impression, aside from Ewan McGregor, but what he did in this movie wasn’t something I’ll remember for him. Not this close to having also seen I Love You Philip Morris.

The Regrettable Aspects: There really aren’t any. It was entertaining, with some believable violence, a simple-yet-effective plot, fairly well developed characters and signature Soderbergh style (which I enjoy). Perhaps Michael Fassbender could’ve been involved more and they could’ve cut out one of the side characters or at least devoted more time to whichever of the side characters they deemed more important.

Would I watch it again? No doubt about it. I’d check it out at the next opportunity.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? I can actually think of quite a few people with whom I’d like to watch this movie – some of my friends, my sister, and possibly even my dad. There’s quite a bit of violence though, so there are some people who probably wouldn’t enjoy it based on that.

Rating: 8.1 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actress – Gina Carano
  • Best Supporting Actor – Michael Fassbender
  • Best Director – Steven Soderbergh

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, so any suggestions / critiques are welcomed.

Leave a Reply

